Skip navigation

mandala_green4002As a child, I loved drawing mandalas.  I thought that making a mandala with my own children would be an interesting project.  We use the ArtRage program quite a bit, so I hunted and hunted for a good set of circle and line images  with center points.  I didn’t have much luck, so I made my own.  As is the way with these things, it would have been oh so much easier if I’d just made my own in the first place.  Anyway, I’m sharing what I’ve made:  a basic compass flower with several points of intersection marked out and a template that you can use for a few ideas for basic mandala ornamentation.  Both print to an 8.5″ x 11″ piece of paper.

The colored example is one that Lily (closer to being 5-yrs-old ever day)  and I made this morning together with the templates loaded as a stencils in ArtRage 2.5.  We were very entertained…..the bits of decorative background were from stencils provided by MisterPaint, we agonized over color selection and element placement….spun stencils around, zoomed in and out and used many, many layers.   It’s a bit time consuming, but then, that’s part of the whole “good for you” process of mandalas.  Want to learn more?  This link  by Laura Ellen Shulman should just about cover it.

P.S.  This graphic is easily made from scratch by using a compass and ruler….think back to 5th grade math.   For those of us who dread using a compass, you can use my graphic as a template to trace over or as a stencil and choose the elements of it that you want to use.  In ArtRage 2.5, this is easily done my importing the graphic as a stencil.  If you do this, I recommend also opening a copy of the original picture as a layer to help keep your central point.

Like working with a compass?  We just bought a hot pink, plastic one or my 7-yr-old for something like $1.50 from Wal-Mart.  This plastic compass is much easier for small hands to hold than the classic thin metal-style compass most of us are familiar with.

 

Here are your files (light lines for pale color scheme coloring pages, dark lines for something more stout and for ArtRage stencils…..open in a new window and right click to download):

2 Comments

    • K Moore
    • Posted February 4, 2011 at 5:52 pm
    • Permalink

    Thank you for publishing these! I am trying to develop creating mandalas as a tool with our pediatric hospice patients, and I’m on a limited budget. Thank you!!!

    • kelly
    • Posted April 11, 2011 at 3:07 am
    • Permalink

    thanks for making this. makes things a bit easier and quicker.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

